How do you turn off the flash in auto and macro mode

edited February 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi Moose, I am very new to the D3100 and can't find out how to turn off the flash when using auto and macro modes. Is it possible to do this and if so how? I'm probably being really stupid here but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere! Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks :)

Comments

• @cosmicchild1961 - Yep, you sure can...just press the "i" button and highlight the flash icon on the LCD info panel. Press OK and then you'll see a couple flash options. The last one in the list will disable the flash when shooting in Auto mode or Macro mode. Happy shooting! :)
  • Hi Moose! Thanks so much for getting back to me. I think this is an amazing site and a fantastic resource for someone like me....a complete novice let loose with a dslr! Is there somewhere I can show my appreciation for the site and the advice you are offering here? Thanks again, Caro
  • Howdy Caro - I really appreciate the kind words. Honestly, the best way you can show your appreciation is by good ole' fashioned word of mouth advertising. Happy shooting! :)
  • jjpjjp
    edited March 2012
    Always wanted to know how to disable the built-in flash when using Auto mode. Thank you Moose, I am new to this site and I think I found my "Nikon Guardian". Thank you!
  • Hey there, new to this forum as of 1 minute ago. I'm trying to learn how to shoot in manual mode and am trying to turn my flash off. I tried the info above but to no avail. Any thoughts?
  • Howdy @mirsep - If you have Manual mode enabled (M on the mode dial), just lower the built-in flash until it clicks into place. To pop the flash back up, just press the lightning bolt button on the front of the camera next to the flash. Happy shooting! :)
  • edited December 2012