New to DSLR Photography

edited March 2013 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I searched the forum and haven't found something related to my question (maybe I'm not using the right keywords), so first I want to apologize if there is a post similar to this one.

I want to start in the photography world, but I have zero experience. I want to start with a DSLR, instead buying a compact camera and then changing to a DSLR.

I've been researching what I should buy and what can I afford, and the Nikon D3100 has popped up. The price is affordable, the lens variety is great (at least that's what I think) and the majority of forums and blogs I have seen say that the D3100 is a great camera for beginners.

I'd like to get some opinions or recommendations from experienced D3100 owners...thank you!

Comments

• edited March 2013
    Hi @bojo, welcome to the forum and the world of DSLR talk. You have certainly come to the right place; you will find all your answers here. :)

Before I start to blabber on, you need to know one thing. The world of DSLR is not cheap. You will start to find answers to your questions and normally it leads to someone recommending one thing or another, but fear not we shall help as much as we can.

The D3100 is a big step to make but it's great for learning. The main feature of the camera is it has a guide mode, meaning it will take you through the steps in learning to shoot in different environments. Of course the camera does have a fully automatic mode also.

So in answer to your question, if you have the cash, go for it! You won't be disappointed and there is so much to learn.
    If there is one thing I would pass on to you it would be this, no matter how many times you will get frustrated there is always an answer somewhere in life on how to overcome it.

Take some time and read some of Moose's advice on the camera and his tips.