Starting with HDR Photography

edited March 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Hello Moose and Team - I am a rookie at photography and owner of a new Canon 60D. Could you please provide some tips for HDR photography please?

My gear includes...
1. Canon 75-300mm lens without IS
2. Canon 18-55mm lens
3. Canon 50mm f1.8 lens

Also please recommend any particular lens to expand my gear. Thank you - Phanindra G.V.

Comments

• edited March 2012
    I have messed around with HDR and is still working the kinks out my self. I have list the programs I use to do my HDR's

1. Lightroom - Import and touch up minor details
    2. Photomatrix Pro - Compose the images into one HDR image
    3. Photoshop - Adjust and correct certain areas of the HDR with my original 3 images.

If you go online and search for Trey Ratcliff and HDR you will find some useful tips and tricks that help me get started. Hope this helps.
  • edited March 2012
    @gon1885 : Thank you for providing clues around this. I will definitely look in it. Thank you - Phanindra G.V.
  • edited March 2012
    Howdy @gvijayphani - As you probably already know, the HDR process essentially blends multiple images at varying exposures of the same scene or subject. The end result is an image with more dynamic range. The process is fairly simple...

1. Mount your 60D to a tripod
    2. Enable Aperture priority (Av on the mode dial)
    3. Select an appropriate aperture - since most HDR shots are of landscapes, architecture, etc... you'll want to use an aperture between f/8 to f/16
    4. Set your ISO to 100
    5. Turn off Image Stabilization (if your lens comes equipped with it)
    6. Enable Auto Exposure Bracketing (AEB) - You can read more about this feature on page 121 of the manual (60D PDF manual)
    7. Enable the Self-timer