Baby pictures in low light

edited April 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi @Moose - This site is amazing for a beginner like me, I appreciate your effort to keep this site updated. I have a newborn baby and own a Nikon D3100 with 18-55 and 18-300 mm VR lens. I've learnt to shoot on manual mode with the assistance of the materials and discussions on your site. I now understand shutter speed, f/numbers, ISO, etc...

I've been taking a lot of pictures of my baby, but sadly, I'm missing something (no wonder, I'm a beginner). The pictures are not good and sharp. I'm shooting in manual mode, mostly indoor with poor lighting during the day and under the florescent lights in the evening.

Could you please guide me to the appropriate setting so that I can take some quality photos. Please, also suggest me about white balance, metering, focus mode, and the other options on the screen underneath focus mode and above metering. Thanks!

Comments

• edited April 2012
    For the conditions mentioned, I think I would use my Tokina 100mm macro lens. Sharp results, fairly tolerant of low light, but I would use either an off-camera remote flash gun or some sort of continuous lighting setup to give some depth to the subject.
  • edited April 2012
    Thanks much @Landon, I appreciate your tips and time that you've spent writing to my question. Could you also suggest me a few, but best and free photo editing programs.

@Robbo, I'd like to thank you too. Could you share some tips using the above said Nikon kit lens because I'm not in a position to get another lens in near future. Thanks!
  • edited April 2012
    I think Landon has it pretty much sewn up there, not much I could add!
    Photo editing programs? Are you ready for this (not all my comments)...

Photoshop alternatives:
    1. Gimp
    2. Artweaver
    3. Paint
    4. PhotoImpact X3 portable
    5. SplashUp - I have used this and it has features similar to that of Adobe Photoshop Elements.