Wedding Reception Candid shots?

Hi everyone!! I am a newbie....and still attempting to learn how to take a decent picture!!! This forum has a ton of extremely helpful information!!!

I'm going to a wedding...and just wanted to take some candid shots as a guest at the reception...I just got the 35mm lens...and was hoping to use that...but I'm curious about what setting to use? It will be indoors......I did purchase the cheat sheets (wow! amazing!!) But I'm still at a major learning curve :) Thank you for any advice and information!!!!

Rachael

Comments

• I'd use the 35 at a fairly wide open aperture, probably all the way to 1.8, or not much past 2.8 unless the light is good and bright, put it on aperture priority and let the shutter speed and ISO float. Digital noise will be some issue in dark areas, but pictures of people, especially candid shots, are less likely to be bothered by this. Still, I'd experiment a little first, taking some available light pictures at varying ISO settings, and see at what point the noise starts to bother you. Then go into the menu, and set the high point for auto ISO below that, so that Auto ISO will not go higher. If you leave other settings alone, and start at ISO 100, in A mode the camera will preserve your aperture setting, lower shutter speed down to 1/30 as needed, and when it goes below that, boost the ISO until the speed goes above 1/30, and so on. You'll have to hold the camera steady to avoid motion blur, but if you're careful, you can do pretty well. If you have trouble at 1/30 you can go into the menu and choose a different minimum shutter speed, at which ISO goes up instead.