Nikon lens help for the D3400

edited April 2017 Posted in » Nikon Lens Talk
Hi guys,

I am hoping to get some help regarding purchasing a new Nikon lens.
Currently I have the kit lens which is an 18-55mm.

I am a total newbie and have only been shooting with this one for a couple of months, but have been told upgrading lens could help me get better shots. Plus I would like to have a bit more variety.
Mostly doing children's photography outdoors, but do a fair bit indoors too, so need something to suit both.

Look forward to hearing some suggestions. :)

Comments

• I would suggest first of all deciding what, if anything, your current lens is failing to deliver. Don't worry about what you're told, if you like what you're getting now.

The kit lens is reasonably sharp, and covers a pretty good normal range of focal lengths. It is capable of very good pictures within its capabilities. Better lenses can be nice, but there's no magic.

One of the most useful additions might be a complementary telephoto lens such as the 55-200 or 55-300 mm. zoom. That, together with the kit lens, gives you a good range from wide to telephoto. The shallower depth of field of a longer lens can make for nice portraits. But if you don't find yourself wishing often that you could get closer to things then it probably won't be what you want.