Trying to master Manual shooting

edited February 2017 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hello, I'm new to the forum and have had my camera for years, but haven't been able to master M mode and I always shoot in Auto. So I started learning and now my photos are so dark. I can't see out of the screen, and they are too dark even when looking in playback mode. Can anyone please tell me what is going on? My opinion is that I set my camera on all kinds of setting and screwed that up. Any advise is much appreciate.

Comments

• edited February 2017
    I forgot to add that when I go back to shooting in Auto all my subjects are blurred and the background focuses.
  • edited February 2017
    I did some you tubing and found out that the exposure was set too low in the minus. I fixed that, but I still can't figure out why my subjects are blurry in front and the background is sharp and focused.
  • edited February 2017
    Ok, first of all, let's look at the focus.

In Automatic mode, the default is to "Auto Area" focus, in which the camera does the job of trying to figure out the subject, and focuses on it. It generally seeks the closest thing that its computer interprets as a subject, and though it can go very wrong, it guesses pretty well often.