External Flash

edited July 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello,

Which is the best external flash for my Nikon D3200?
Please advice.

Thanks,
Niven

Comments

• One with a slave built in might help, but depends on your requirements. Bruto will give you the detailed version.
  • edited July 2016
    Actually, I have little experience with modern flashes that work well with TTL on the D3200. There are a couple of fairly nice looking economy models these days coming from China, but I don't know how well they hold up over the long term.

I use flash fairly infrequently. Most of the time when I do, I'm using fully manual lenses, so TTL is not available anyway, and I use manual or old style auto flashes that have their own metering. Auto flashes work very well in their own way, but TTL has the advantage of getting a more even overall exposure often. An old flash picture will often stand out by having a well exposed subject and a black background. It's hard to get fill.

I would, however, second the slave suggestion. The D3200 does not have a wireless commander mode, and can only trigger a slave either with light from its built in flash, or with a wireless accessory. But remote operation makes a flash very versatile for getting the light in the right place.

I think an earlier thread in the D3200 forum included another person's experience with a Chinese made flash that claims to be compatible with the D3200 and just about everything else, which certainly seemed to have a lot of features. He found it on Amazon, I think. I'll try to retrieve the thread later and see if I can remember the brand. It looked like a lot for the price.

edit to add: the poster in question was @RandyA, in a thread about shooting dancers, and the flash he linked to was an Altura. This is a brand I know nothing of, but the thing looked pretty nice and the price was low. Perhaps he can chime in here and let us know a bit more about how the flash is performing.