Keeping the flash on while shooting a close up?

edited March 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I have a Nikon D3100 with the basic 18-55mm AF-S Nikkor lens and I use a Macintosh iMac 27" computer. I mainly take pictures of products I make for my Etsy page: soaps, lotions, soy candles, etc...

I'm trying to figure out how to get my photos bright with a stark white background. Just discovered Photo Fuze which works well, but is time consuming. I'm shooting in a light box with a white background and trying to achieve this sort of look (see here.

I realize that any photo I take probably involves some tweaking to get this look as I usually use iPhoto (slowly learning Photoshop Elements 8). Just wondering what would be the best setting on my Nikon to use to get a bright photo. Is there a setting that keeps the flash on? I've only had my camera for a few months and this is my first DSLR and I'm still learning how it all works.

Comments

• Howdy @twoblooms - Honestly, I wouldn't use the built-in flash. All you'll end up with is blown out highlights and overexposed product shots. To get a softer, more natural looking bright light, I would look at modifying your current lightbox.

Your lightbox should be bright enough to illuminate your subject and eliminate the need to use the built-in flash. If it's not bright enough, then you'll need more light. You can go down to your local hardware store and buy utility bowl lights between $8 and $12. Couple these with energy saver daylight bulbs and you'll be able to emit more light into your lightbox.

In addition to all of that, make sure you set a custom white balance before you shoot. This will get rid of any color casts and ensure you end up with a bright white background.