How to get truer color and better light with the Nikon D5100?

vljvlj
edited October 2013 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hi all. I'm new here, so I'm happy to see there is a forum to help.

For six years I had a Nikon D40X which I used with an 18-200mm VR lens. It was my first venture with a DSLR and to be honest the images were so good I never got off the auto setting. They were fantastic, point and shoot, sharp, clear, color perfect.

I had to buy another because my D40x was damaged so I did a lot of research and bought the D5100 to use with my 18-200mm VR lens as that has always been enough. I took it on a trip to Europe and because I didn't have time to read all the books and do much studying I kept it on auto as I always did with my D40X and the results were disappointing. My husband's Iphone and my Canon S110 compact were much better for sharpness, light and clarity.

When I got home I used it for the purpose I often do, flower photography. I am a botanical artist and I use these photos for reference pictures, but the results were terrible. The color was blown out, could not seem to focus well on the subject, and they were dark. I simply cannot use the images for my work.

I went back to the store and they said there seemed to be a focus issue. Had it repaired and got it back last week. I had to take photos of my artwork before being framed and the results were terrible. The colors looked almost fluoro and the paper too dark. I took the same images with my Canon S110 compact which were far better. The response from repairers was to play with settings, white balance, all sorts of things, which I am trying to do. I just don't understand why the auto setting is so rubbish. I know I should not even have a DSLR if I am not prepared to move off auto, but really, if it is such a superior camera to my D40X surely the auto setting should be superior?