Best Lens for Street Photography

Hi, I like very much to shoot street photography. I have a 18-55mm kit lens, so what other lens should I buy?
13»

Comments

• edited July 2013
    Hi,
    I'm from the Canon side of the fence, but don't let that put you off. Followed your link and wow; what great pictures! You have a real talent and eye there. I've been into photography for over 50 years and your pictures are some of the best I've seen. Well done.
  • edited July 2013
    Come on sir...I mean thank you very much, but I know you just saying that to encourage me. :)
  • edited July 2013
    Hi @Chedyus
    I don't say things I don't mean! If my comments have given you some encouragement then that is good, but I will repeat "some of the best street pictures I have ever seen".
    Best regards, PBked
  • edited October 2013
    Hi, I am pretty new to photography, and would like to do some street photography. Any tips I should consider when going out?

I have done a bit of skateboard and nature/landscape photography. :)
    You can see some of my stuff on my Flickr.
  • edited August 2013
    Thank you @PBked

@miguelturner you have some nice photos there. I added you as contact. As for street photography, look for candid moments, be confident, be friendly and keep taking photos to improve.
  • edited August 2013
    @Chedyus - You're street photography is looking great and your portraiture is fantastic. Keep it up! :)

• edited September 2013
    I have had my D3100 for 6 months now. I just got the 50mm f/1.8 prime lens last week. I've only tried it a couple of times and it seems like the pictures are blurry and not just the background.
  • Hey @sbaker63 - Most of the time the issue is attributed to the camera locking focus on the wrong subject or your subject moving out of the area in focus.

When shooting at f/1.8, the depth of field is incredibly small. If your subject even moves an inch towards you or away from you, it can throw them out of focus.