What are the Lens that Will work with my D3100

edited September 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I am new in the World of photography and this is my first professional camera. I bought the body only and then I bought the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX and I love it. I can finally get the blur background that I always wanted. I am right now focusing on portraits.

I returned the Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras and I got the 35mm. Not because the 50mm was bad, but because the 35mm offers me a more Portrait/General use for my first lens. I think I will get my self a 50mm later, maybe the Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras or the Nikon 50mm f/1.8G AF-S NIKKOR FX (I love the switch MA/M).

I have seems tons of lens for Nikon cameras (some of then very old) at very good prices, but those lens are probably are pre-digital photography.

Will these lenses will work with my camera? I don’t care a lot about auto focus (it's nice but I think I like the freedom of focusing on the subject myself) but for this digital camera do I have to stay with lens made for digital cameras?

What good value lenses are out there other that the Nikkor lenses (when I say value I don’t mean cheap but Price/Quality)?

Thanks, Ruben.

Comments

• edited September 2012
    Ruben I would refer to the manual. In the back somewhere is a list of the lenses you can use. The 35mm and 50mm are fabulous; great for portraits just as you found. For the focus it's ones personal preference. I like the AF-S just because it saves time and if your subject is moving or your finding it difficult to focus then it's always there. I do use manual when I feel I need it.