Lens out of focus

edited March 2015 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Hi, I was wondering if anyone had the same problem.
I've been using my canon 60D for 8 months, and in the 8 months I've used different lenses on the body (fix 50mm, efs 18-135mm macro and an EF 75-300mm). All the lenses were focusing perfectly. Lately my 18-135mm lens still focuses perfectly but my 75-300mm lens is back focused.
I tested the lens by putting 3 AA batteries in line about 150mm apart. I put it in line with the lens so that the batteries are all different distances from the camera. Camera was on manual setting, af single point, af on, on a tripod, clip on flash and 2 sec delay to avoid any camera shake.
I let the camera focus on the middle battery and the rear battery is in focus.
I let the camera focus on the front battery and the middle battery is in focus.

If I take off the lens and put it on my D1100 Canon, with all the same settings in manual mode, it's perfect.
How can a lens that worked perfectly all the time on a certain body suddenly have a focus problem? How can I fix this?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• edited March 2016
    I have the same problem and but I have a 18-200mm Tamron and a Canon 100mm macro is usm. Both don't focus well on the 60D. I even use a tripod and no difference. I don't know how to calibrate it, but would like to learn how.
  • edited March 2016
    I don't know much about this combination, nor about how that Canon adjusts for focus, but it's actually not all that rare for a zoom lens to have different optimal focus at different points, as well as on different cameras.

If you do have the option for fine tuning focus on this setup, I suggest you try it at various focal lengths and see if it varies, and then you may have to decide what compromise to make.