Photos indoors with dim light and no flash

edited July 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi, I am really new to my D3100 and a friend has asked me to take some pictures of his punk band when they next rehearse. The lighting in the garage is dim and they asked I don't use a flash! I have only taken landscape shots in daylight so I have no clue on the best settings and lens. Any help on how to get the best photos would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Comments

• edited July 2015
    Depending on just how dim the light is, and how it is distributed, this will be a challenge, but can be done.

First of all, use the fastest lens you can find. A 35mm or 50mm prime would be nice. In a garage, a 35mm would probably be ideal. A 50mm might be a little hard to get wide enough depending on the space. Smallest aperture number = largest aperture, fastest lens. Because the kit zoom slows down as you zoom in, you might find it better to use a mid to wider angle, get closer, and crop afterwards.

You will have to crank up the ISO, and how far you can go with this will depend somewhat on what noise level is acceptable (and how fast your lens is). Bright colors and lit areas will fare better than dark shadows at very high ISO, and often faces will look OK even when they're a little noisy. Digital noise is preferable to accidental blur. If you can, experiment at home with various ISO levels in average lighted rooms, to see what is acceptable. Much depends on how big you're going to print. Smaller prints will not look as noisy.

If the people are lit up and the surroundings are dark, switch to spot metering, and meter a face. Let the shadows go black, or else the camera will tend to overexpose trying to get the whole scene bright.