Shooting exotic/show cars

edited March 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello, I'm looking for some advice on shooting some cars throughout sunsets or the night. I've seen some crazy nice pictures I would like to shoot myself. Some of the shots will be at sunset and some at night. I don't know too much about flash photography, but I have a slave flash. I'm fairly new to shooting anyway. I have the D3200 with the kit lens and a 55-200mm lens. I'm shooting a darker car and would like to focus on it, but also get a good shot of the background (skyline). If anyone could give me some tips or settings pointers on shooting such things that would be great. Thanks.

Comments

• edited March 2015
    A couple of things come to mind.

The first is reflection control. These objects are, of course, greatly reflective, and that can work both for you and against you. Try to find angles in which the reflections are not blinding or blown out and contain some interesting things other than yourself.

Flash will have to be a bit oblique to avoid harsh reflections back.

As far as backgrounds, if you want close and far both in focus, maximize your depth of field by stopping down and by using as wide a focal length as you can. You'll begin to lose a small amount of overall definition at F stops higher than about 11 to diffraction, but this trade off may be necessary if you want to minimize blur. For most of this, you'll probably be best off with the kit lens, as the 55-200mm has too much background blur. It's nice for portraits, but not for sharp backgrounds.

The D3200 does not have depth of field preview, so some of this must be guessed at or done with a cheat. Here is the cheat.