Nikon lens guidance

edited October 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I am planning to buy a lens for my D3200 Nikon camera. It came with the standard 18-55mm lens. Here are links for two lenses I have planned to buy:

1. Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR Lens.

http://www.flipkart.com/nikon-af-s-dx-nikkor-55-300-mm-f-4-5-5-6g-ed-vr-lens/p/itmcx3sgdzfgcghx?pid=ACCCX3SGDZFGCGHX

2. Nikon AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED Lens

http://www.flipkart.com/nikon-af-s-vr-zoom-nikkor-70-300-mm-f-4-5-5-6g-if-ed-lens/p/itmcx3sgfmc9zmzc?pid=ACCCX3SGFMC9ZMZC

I am not a pro, so I wanted to get a heads-up before purchasing. Basically I wanted to know the differences these lenses have, features, and more of a better zoom lens. Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• edited October 2014
    Pros of the 55-300mm
    Less expensive
    Smaller/lighter
    Wide-end of the lens goes to 55mm

Cons of the 55-300mm
    In the future, if you buy a full frame Nikon, this lens would only work in DX crop mode which defeats the purpose of the full frame sensor.
    Front lens element rotates on focus (i.e. interferes with use of certain filters).
    No manual focus override (i.e. must manually toggle switch to turn the focus ring).
    VR is either just on or off.

Pros of the 70-300mm
    Theoretically sharper on a DX camera relative to DX lenses (negligible)*
    In the future, if you buy a full frame Nikon, you can still use this lens.
    Front lens element doesn’t rotate on focus.
    Manual focus override.
    VR differentiation between Normal and Active.

Cons of the 70-300mm
    More expensive
    Larger/heavier
    Wide-end of the lens only goes to 70mm