Best Lens for Light Box/Jewelry Pics

edited January 2013 Posted in » Canon Lens Talk
Hello all,

I'm a beginner when it comes to photography and I need some guidance. I have a Canon Rebel xTi DSLR with a 50mm lens (I don't have the original 18-55mm lens). I recently purchased a lightbox to take pictures of jewelry for my Etsy shop. My challenge is I can't get the camera to focus in on the shot. Maybe I'm too close? I don't really know the limitations of the 50mm lens.

Here is my setup:

Lightbox with white background
3-4 light blue resin rings
1 ring in front (in focus)
2-3 rings in the background (preferably blurred)
Lightbox has a hole in the side to shoot though so I'm very close to the rings when trying to focus (maybe 8 inches away)

The camera won't come in to focus on the shot, and even if I switch to MF I still can't focus it. I'd appreciate any help. In a perfect world, I'd like to be able to use my existing lens to photograph the jewelr, so that I don't have to buy any additional equipment.

Thanks so much, and Happy New Year!

Comments

• edited January 2013
    You have the Canon 50mm f/1.8?
    I believe the minimum focusing distance for the lens is 45cm.
    What you need is a macro lens or extension tubes.
    I've used extension tubes with that 50mm lens before for a similar purpose as your requirements and they worked perfectly.
  • Thanks darshun. So if I added a Canon EF25 extension tube to my 50mm lens I should be able to get my jewelry to come into focus in the lightbox? Will I be able to take the photos fairly close?

Thanks again!
  • edited January 2013