Slow shutter speeds indoors while using Av mode

edited May 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
Hello @Moose! I am fairly new to the SLR world (couple months), but have a pretty good understanding of it already. I'm exclusively using the Av, Tv and M modes.

My question is about the shutter speed (seen thru the viewfinder) while in Av mode. Last night I was studying up to learn more about my camera and I was sitting in my office which is brightly lit, facing my very bright kitchen (all lights on).

I took a bunch of photos using different settings from f/1.8 to f/11 with the ISO between 100-400. The shutter speeds "appeared" to be in a feet/inches measurement, like 15" and 30". I am going to go ahead and assume that that this means 15 seconds and 30 seconds?

Why would it automatically set to such a slow shutter speed? I mean, I wasn't outside in the sun or anything, but I also wasn't in a dark room either. Sorry if this is a dumb question, I couldn't find the answer anywhere on my own. Thanks in advance! :-)

Comments

• edited May 2012
    Hi @BigRed - You correctly answered your first question. 15" does indeed mean 15 seconds.

What may seem to be a bright room to you will not necessarily be a bright room to your cameras image sensor. The human eye adjusts constantly to account for the amount of light reaching the retina.

With Av selected, the T2i was determining how much light would reach the sensor. At f/1.8 you probably had an exposure time of about 1/60th, but as you closed the aperture (larger f-number) the amount of light reaching the sensor would have diminished, therefore longer shutter speeds would be needed to make an accurate exposure.

Try taking the same pictures tonight, but with 'P' mode and note the settings it gives you. Hope this helps.
  • edited May 2012
    Oh! Great idea @PBked! Thanks, I wouldn't have thought to do that. I will try tonight.