Best lens for landscape and zoom pictures

edited January 2015 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
I'm sure by now this topic has been beaten like a dead horse, but all this language is very difficult for me to understand. I am a novice photographer that doesn't know much about the lingo or anything, so feel free to educate me along the way. :)

So here's my ordeal. I just recently moved to Hawaii, and love to take pictures of the landscapes. During my last outing, I realized that the stock 18-55mm lens that I have did not give my pictures of the giant waves the glory they deserved. So, of course, I am now in search for a new lens.

That's where I need the help from the seasoned professionals. Since I am just a hobbyist, I don't really want to drop thousands of dollars on a lens, but I know they can be pricey. Today, I looked at a Sigma 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 DC MACRO OS, and the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR. Am I looking in the right direction?

Would you suggest one over the other, or even a totally different lens? I do have a tripod, that I can use as well. What is everyone's favorite lens to use?

My ultimate goal is to take breathtaking landscape pictures, as well as to be able to zoom in to get good pictures of the surfers out on those 40' waves.

Oh, by the way, I also bought the cheat sheets, so I am pumped to them out!

Thanks so much for the help and I apologize for the rambling.

Comments

• edited January 2015
    Update:

I think that I read just about every single post in the forum that had to deal with landscapes/oceans etc. I totally felt like a solid decision was to purchase the Nikon 55-300mm VR f/4.5-5.6G AF-S DX, as well as the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX, until I started reading reviews online regarding the Nikon 55-300mm VR f/4.5-5.6G AF-S DX vs the Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR on Amazon. Now I'm just at a loss.