Need a Camera Recommendation Please!

edited August 2019 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi Folks,

I have had the Nikon D3200 camera for 4 years now. Have enjoyed it immensely. But now I think it's time to move up. Have noticed other cameras having a better picture quality. Usually those cameras are Nikon's with higher price tags. Could someone make a recommendation of what I could look into moving up too? Would like to keep using the 3 lenses that I use with the D3200. What is the minimum that I could move up to and see a difference in picture quality? What is the maximum that I could move up to and still use the same lenses? I am not a professional photographer and cannot afford the big prices.

Thank you in advance,

Lonnie

Comments

• Any DX (crop sensor) camera will happily work with your D3200 lenses, even if at a later date you find you want to upgrade.

You'll get some improvement in quality from any newer generation of the D3x00 and D5x00 series, but I think you'd do better to jump up to the D7x00 series now.

I went from D3200 to D7100, and the increase in quality is pretty noticeable, although it is not huge. The image is sharper (because no anti-aliasing filter) and the high ISO is somewhere between a stop and two stops better. What I notice most here is that although high ISO is still pretty noisy, it is not so damaging. The 3200 noise seems to nibble away the edges in a way that is bothersome when doing wildlife and the like, especially when cropping hard. My wife had the 7100 and I the 3200, and the difference really showed up when shooting animals in the low light of the Amazon jungle.

She found the small shot buffer of the D7100 annoying, and upgraded to a d7200, and I ended up with the 7100, which I still use.