Help with settings

Hi All,
I have a lot of bees in my garden and would like to capture a picture of one in a flower. I am a complete newbie to photography and every attempt has failed! I’d appreciate some help...thank you

Comments

• edited June 2019
    Bees are pretty hard to get because they flit about so fast, and focusing can be nearly impossible, especially if you don't have the fastest focusing lens (you know the one that costs five times what your camera did!).

A couple of hints:

I'd go to either manual, shutter priority, or aperture priority mode, dependig on how you're used to working. Any of those modes will allow you to choose the shutter speed, but shutter priority is likely the easiest.

First, keep the shutter speed fairly high. You'll need a shutter speed in the 1/500 range to keep moving insects truly still, though, you may be able to get by with less if they stand still. You'll almost never get the wings if they're buzzing. If it's a bright day, you can probably keep your ISO pretty low, but you may have to up the ISO and settle for a little noise. If you have issues with too shallow a depth of field, you may want to put the aperture up to F8 or so, and up the ISO as need be.

If you have a telephoto lens, try putting it on its longest focal length and using that. It's not macro, but the distance can help. Generally you should use the longest focal length you have available, since a zoom will focus just as close at the long end as at the wide.

For Auto focus, you need Continuous Servo, not single. Try 11 point Dynamic Area mode first, but if that does not do, you might try 3D mode. 3D mode can jump to the wrong subject sometimes, but does well with insects that flit about, especially if they are distinct in color from the flowers they're on. Dynamic Area works best on things that go in a predictable path, while 3D can work a little better on things that dart around.