Help with Rode Video Mic

edited August 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I just made an account because I can't find help anywhere else. I'm a complete novice when it comes to using mics. I've never had to use one before then. I just bought a rode mic, and when I plug it in, it doesn't record any sound. I don't know what I could be doing wrong. I just hear static or something of the sorts.

Comments

• An external mic should just plug in, but you must make sure the connector is correct. The connector on the camera is for a stereo microphone, and as far as I can see that's the correct one, but can't know for sure.

There is a menu setting for microphone on and off, and for auto sensitivity. Make sure that setting is correct, and try it with auto sensitivity off.

If nothing occurs, I'd suspect a bad sample, and try another microphone before going too much further.
  • edited August 2016
    I had figured it out a little while ago. It doesn't seem to really make a difference whether the mic is plugged in or not. Maybe I have the levels set wrong.
  • Go to the shooting menu, and open the entry for "movie settings" with the right arrow. In this submenu you will find a "microphone" entry, and in that submenu, entries for microphone auto level, manual level adjustment, and "microphone off." Make sure the microphone is on. There is a graphic display here, and with ambient sound, such as a radio going in the room, it should register sound with the auto setting on.
  • Hi I have a similar problem. But my micro was worked good for a some weks, but now I want to use again, and don't work with the camera.

I check the micro in my cell phone and works ok.

Some sugestion please!!