50mm f/1.8 G vs D lens

edited April 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I am fairly new to the Nikon D3200 and I'm looking to upgrade my lens from the kit lens. I am just not getting extra sharp photos with the kit lens.
I have a charity photo shoot coming up where I will be taking photos of families, many with young children.
I am not sure if I should get the Nikon AF 50mm f/1.8 D prime lens, or spend more money and get the Nikon AF 50mm f/1.8 G prime lens.
It's really important that I get really great photos so I want to invest in he correct lens, but I'm just not sure. Any advice or suggestions?

Thank you!
Izzie

Comments

• The D lens has no internal motor, so it will not auto focus with your camera.

It will meter fine, and give good pictures if you manually focus, but in order to get AF with this camera, you must get an AFS lens that has the motor in the lens.

• edited April 2016
    Thank you! I'm going to go with the G. Do you ever purchase used? I've compared the prices of new versus used on some reputable sites such as B&H and Adorama, and I'm tempted to buy used but worried about being without a warranty. What do you think?
  • edited April 2016
    The best used vendors will include a warranty, including B&H and Adorama, and also KEH. KEH has a warranty and a return policy. Their prices tend to be a little on the high side, but their quality rating is very reliable. I've bought a number of things from them, and even their "bargain" grade is usually quite decent. Above that you can pretty well go without worry. Do make note, though, of whether caps, hoods, etc., are included. If they don't say they are, they probably aren't. Right now their web site is poorly organized. They keep changing it for reasons unknown, but their service is good.

• edited April 2016
    I'll look at that, thank you!
  • edited January 2017