Reverse Bokeh

edited July 2013 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Is there such a thing as reverse Bokeh? I am trying to photograph an american flag in the background with sea oats in the foreground. I was hoping for the sea oats to be blurred out with the flag in focus in the background, but I am having trouble achieving those results (the whole picture is blurred). I know it is a matter of changing settings. I have a D3100, kit lens, and 55-200mm zoom. I believe I was using the 55-200mm at the time.

For the record, I am a newbie amateur photographer. This is my first post here! I have only had my D3100 for a month or so, and still have a lot to learn. I understand the uses behind aperture and f-stop, I just don't know what settings to use with what I have in my possession.

Thanks a bunch! :-)
I'm grateful to have found this forum; lots of good stuff here!

Darcy

Comments

• edited July 2013
    Hi,
    Use a wide aperture, say f/3.5 or f/4. Zoom or position yourself fairly close to the oats, say 5 feet. Now make sure that your focus points are only on the flag. I don't know the D3100, but it may be possible to select just the centre AF point. This should give you the effect you want.
    Regards, PBked
  • edited July 2013
    Hello Darcy,

As PBked said, use wide apertures in order to achieve narrow depth of field. Additionally, get close to the oats so the relative distance between the oats and the flag increase.

About the focus, use these settings:

Focus points: single-point AF (you select the focus point)

Focus mode: AF-S (focus is locked when shutter button is pressed halfway)

You can learn more about focus at: http://www.cameratips.com/d3100/focus-modes-points-nikon-d3100

You just need to focus on the flag.

If your lens doesn't have focus motor (if it is AF instead of AF-S), then you will need to manually focus using the focus ring.

Thanks,
    Felipe
  • edited August 2013