Which lens to buy?

Hi all, I have the D3200 and the 2 lenses that came with the package at time of purchase 18-55 mm and 55-200 mm. I was going to buy some of Moose’s cheat sheets and it says buy 2 get 1 free. I am still new to this and honestly don’t understand the difference in lenses yet so what should be my next lense purchase and thus subsequent free 3rd cheat sheet?

I have 3 kids, we like to travel and I like taking pictures of pretty much everything. Including xmas lights, Christmas trees, moons, etc. but I’ve never been able to figure out how to get any of that right with a standard camera. This is my first fancy camera.

Plus Pinterest is wonderful (terrible) with providing me with lots of cute pictures kids/babies that I want to duplicate and hope to figure out.

My daughters first birthday is on Thanksgiving so I’m also trying to learn as much as I can so I can get awesome pictures of that too.

Thanks for any insight!!

Carrie

Comments

• edited November 2017
    Since you have the basic range pretty well covered, I'd vote for a good normal focal length prime lens. The 35mm 1.8 DX is a great bargain for all around use and low light, nice and sharp. If you find yourself currently leaning more toward the long end of your 18-55 zoom, the 35/1.8 (typo - I meant the 50/1.8) is another bargain, with a somewhat narrower view, especially nice for portraits.

There are, of course, plenty of other lenses that are nice, especially if you're in the mood to drop a lot of money, but I think one of those two would be the best next step. A normal focal length 35 on that body will provide nice sharp well rendered images, and it's not that uncommon for a photographer to find that normal perspective so appealing that it becomes the "go-to" lens much of the time. If your other lenses disappeared and you were left with nothing in your bag but a good 35, you'd still be well equipped. In terms of "bang for buck" it's hard to beat.

• Thank you! I will look into those.