Beginner

edited October 2015 Posted in » Nikon D5300 Forum
Hello all!
I'm a beginner to using a real camera. I'm very passionate about pictures. Ask anyone who knows me, I'm always photographing the sky/sun/clouds with my phone. It was time for an upgrade, and I now own a Nikon D5300. Does anyone have any helpful pointers or resources for learning how to use this amazing technology properly?

Thank you!

Comments

• edited October 2015
    On specifics we forum folks can help much of the time. On more general grounds, I think you're best off reading as much as you can, visiting as many sites as you can, and, of course, for starters investigating this site's home pages, including hints for the various cameras, and the "cheat sheets" which address specific situations and provide settings that will provide a reliable result. Moose (the site's proprietor) provides ongoing support to cheat sheet users as well.

There are a lot of web resources out there with some basic instruction on the fundamentals of aperture, shutter speed, and so forth. One that looks to be pretty good is Cambridge Colour on line. Not to be confused with the former retailer Cambridge, which once was good and then became very bad, this is a different Cambridge, a British one!

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/

Digital Camera World also has some good elementary stuff.
  • Thank you! Yes, I definitely have a lot of reading to do!
  • edited October 2015
    Meanwhile, here are a couple of very broad recommendations:

Read the whole manual, and make sure you have the full one. The D3200 printed manual is not complete, but the PDF on the CD is. The same may be true of yours. Put that PDF on your computer, so you can refer to it frequently.

Practice the basic procedures, getting menus, changing settings, setting AF points, altering ISO, reading and deleting files, etc., so that when you are learning the photographic ins and outs you do not also have to learn how to work the camera.