Cake Smash Shoot

Hello,

I'm not a pro photographer but have been snapping away for a while now. I did an A level in photography but waited so long after leaving school before buying a decent camera that I pretty much forgot everything. Now I'm getting better again but still in need of a little advice.

I've got the D3200 (obviously) and the 18-55 kit lense that came with it. I primarily take shots of my children with it and am aware it lacks quite substantially indoors for that. With that in mind we're planning a cake smash shoot for our youngest as she turns 1 in September. I want to get some practice in before then so I'm going to try and do a mini smash this weekend to see how things go.

Basically I'm wondering what settings would be best for this sort of thing?

We're going to do it outdoors to get the best possible light for this lense. I was also thinking of going with 35-55mm range on the lense depending on how close I want to get to her, Aperture priority mode, auto-ISO with 1/125 min shutter speed, lowest possible aperture, AF-S (but wasn't sure if I should be using AF-C), and I'm unsure about what's best in terms of focus and exposure. Because I'm thinking this is essentially a baby portrait, but she's bound to be moving about a bit because she'll be diving in to the cake. But then she's not likely to be really rapidly moving. So I'm unsure. Should I go with centre weighted metering and single point focus? Or do I need to make the most of auto-area focus?

Thanks in advance

Comments