Fast Motion Capture In Low Light

Hi all,

So I am an amateur pro wrestling photographer and I spend 70% of my time working in low light/artificial light situations.

This makes it incredibly hard to capture fast motions without there being a significant amount of blur.

What can I do to minimise blurring without sacrificing quality?

I appreciate that the shutter speed has to be high (above 1/500) and ISO needs to be above 6400 in order to get any kind of shot but even then the shots come out incredibly dark.

What lens (between 10-20mm) would be worth me investing in to get the best in these situations?

As a side note, I would use flash but that significantly reduces the shutter speed doesn't it?

Any help would be amazing.

Comments

• If you can use flash without violating any rules, try that. It reduces shutter speed, only because exposure depends entirely on the duration of the flash, which is very very fast. A properly flashed picture will likely stop motion completely. However, of course you do need to be close enough for your flash to light the subject, and you have to be in a place where flash is allowed. The built in flash might not get you all the way, but if you can find a more powerful shoe mounted flash, you might be surprised. The bigger the flash, the faster, usually, and a good big one will outspeed the fastest shutter speed, but even the built in flash will usually stop motion well.

If you are in an arena that is brightly lit, and the subjects do not occupy a majority of the frame, you might get dark images because the meter is trying to get a perfect exposure of the lights, which you don't care about. Try spot metering on the face of a wrestler if you can, and see if that helps.