Portrait and macro photography help

edited August 2014 Posted in » Canon Lens Talk
Hi guys. I've had my T2i for quite some time and I happily went along with the kit lens. Lately I've been trying to get good portrait and macro photography to capture detail perfectly. I've also experimented with my 50mm lens, but I'm still not getting the quality and sharpness I need.

Some background info: I'm a makeup artist and I need to capture high quality images of detail in eye work and face makeup. I'll try to add the images that I'm hoping to achieve similar quality.

I did read about the Raynox DCR 250, but I'm unsure if it's really for my type of close ups.

I'm not an expert or experienced, so any non technical straightforward advice would be appreciated.

Links to pictures :

http://i59.tinypic.com/x0sglk.jpg

Comments

• edited August 2014
    Hi Rabzy,
    Don't blame the poor T2i. It is one of if not the best consumer cameras available in my opinion. Now to your problem. Forget the Raynox unless you want to photograph 1 hair in an eyebrow or up someone's nose ! The kit lens or the 50mm require you to get intimidatingly close to your subject and produce issues with perspective. There are a range of lenses which would suit your needs (they are sometimes called portrait lens due to being used most often for this kind of work).
    There are prime lenses which come in 60mm, 85mm, 100mm flavors (on your crop factor T2i these would be actually 96mm, 136mm and 160mm) and are often also macro.
    Then there are some decent zooms which cover all those focal lengths. With either type you can shoot from further away, but get the close-ups you require.
    If cost is an issue then use your kit lens from further away and use software to crop your photo. You have 18 megapixels to play with, so a fair amount of cropping can be done.
    Hope this helps,
    PBked
  • edited August 2014
    Hard to tell, but by looking at the photos you can identify some of the techniques used.