Recommended shooting mode

edited March 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi all. I'm brand new to photography and have been reading different websites about what is the best mode to start in. Some say never shoot in P, others say always A, but never the icon modes. Most of my shooting is cycling photos or rugby, but sometimes landscapes and views.
Is there an ideal start point for shooting everything or change modes for different types of photos, likd S for fast moving sport, then A for landscapes? Hope this makes sense. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

Comments

• edited March 2017
    I would not say never to use P, which can be a handy standby setting for quick point and shoot needs. P allows you to control most aspects of the camera, but chooses both aperture and shutter speed. You can use the back dial to vary the proportion between the two.

P, S, A and M are the only modes in which you have full control of all the other functions of the camera, including focus mode and area, ISO, metering, white balance, and so forth, and for that reason they are to be preferred whenever possible.

I tend to like A mode myself, choosing the aperture manually, letting the camera choose shutter speed, and keeping an eye on the setting. If the shutter speed goes too low, I up the ISO (auto ISO turned off). A works well for landscapes most of the time. Since aperture is so important to depth of field, I like to have control of that one first, with shutter speed less of an issue unless it goes too slow to hand hold, or not slow enough to blur moving water. Once you're used to the controls, A mode works quickly. Of the various pluses and minuses of the D3200, the placement of the Fn button, which you can assign to manual ISO, is very good.