Skyline photo at night

edited February 2017 Posted in » Nikon D5200 Forum
Hey! So the last couple of nights I have been trying to get a great shot of the San Diego skyline. I have not been successful at all. I have been using the "Low Light" tips. Not sure if that is the right setting for what I am trying to achieve. The photos look great on my screen, but when I get home the buildings, sailboats, etc are so blurry! I have the focus on Auto, but that changes all of my settings; I have also tried manual. Any recommendations
on how to be successful? I am very new at photography. I purchased the cheat cards, but didn't really see one for this type of situation. Thanks for your help in advance!

Nick

Comments

• edited February 2017
    My apologies, I have been using a 18-270mm 1;3.5-6.3 lens. I bought the cheat card for the 18-300mm.
  • edited February 2017
    Hi @NICKH8771,
    Mooses cheat sheets for the 18-300mm will be close enough for the 18-270mm.
    Just a note on photographing skylines at night. I assume you are using a tripod, and if not, you should be. Professional photographers will often arrive at their chosen destination a while before sundown. That way they can do all their focusing while there is still light. Then they wait patiently for darkness. Makes sense when you think of it.
    Regards,
    PBked
  • edited February 2017
    Hey @PBKED, yeah I have been using a tripod. Out of curiosity, what do you normally have your settings set too?
  • When you say you had the focus on "auto" and it changed all your settings, it suggests you may be confusing auto exposure with auto focus.

I suggest you revisit the recommended settings, but while on the tripod make sure that the lens itself is set to "M" or that the camera's AF choice is "Manual" in the af menu. Then switch to Live View, and manually focus the view using that screen. You can zoom in to specific details using the [+] button, which will zoom only the viewfinder, not the image itself.