Settings in dim light settings

edited February 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
I am new at this and desperately need help with my settings. I am looking for the best settings for a stage picture. My husband is a musician so I like to take stage pictures, and this camera had good low lit reviews. I am struggling with the settings. I want to take pictures on a dim lit stage with colored lights, and lights to light up each musician on stage, so I don't want the flash to brighten the entire picture and loose the colored lights. I have tried various speeds, etc. and they are either too dark and just a blur of color, or too bright as the flash has made the entire stage and musician look so bright. Please can anyone help? Thank you.

Comments

• edited February 2017
    To begin with, you must ditch the flash. Aside from the inconsistency, it is likely to be distracting to the performers.

Some will depend on what lens you're using. But in general, you're best off going to one of the less automatic modes, such as Aperture priority or Shutter priority. You probably won' t need a lot of depth of field if you're shooting just one musician or a tight group, so keep the aperture fairly wide open (small F number). If you're not sure what's best, try P mode, which allows the camera to set both aperture and shutter speed.