Wide angle/landscape

edited January 2017 Posted in » Nikon D5300 Forum
I'm an absolute beginner and enjoy using your cheat cards with my standard lens 18-55mm. I also got a Nikkor 14-24mm which I'll bring along for a 1-2 month travel in Utah/Arizona and then many canyons. Any cheat cards for this lens coming up? Any advice is much welcome. Thanks.

Comments

• Hi @Haraldf, you can actually use some of the scenarios with from your 18-55mm set with your 14-24mm. More specifically the landscape/architecture, sunset/sunrise, real estate exteriors/interiors, fireworks and waterfall cheat cards. The settings for those scenarios should be compatible.
  • edited February 2017
    The technical aspects of that lens will be similar enough, and of course where it overlaps with the 18-55mm will be especially similar if not identical.

The main differences you'll find will be creative, I think. It can take a little practice to get comfortable with the increased field of view when you go very wide. You have to get used to incorporating a lot of sky and a lot of foreground into the composition, and to the exaggerated perspective. It can be very dramatic when well chosen, and of course when you want lots of inclusion, you'll get it. Make sure your foreground has some interest - if not objects, then patterns. You'll likely see more of it in your picture than your naked eye registers.

Perspective, which can be problematic at wider angles of the normal zoom, becomes more so. At any focal length, if you tilt the lens upward from level, you'll get some vertical perspective (buildings, for example, will taper toward the pyramidal). The wider you go, the more it happens, and with a very wide lens, unless you're looking for the effect, when you tilt the camera upwards, buildings, trees, people and everything else will appear tapered and elongated.