Sigma 150-600mm lens

edited January 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi,
I have a 150-600mm lens. I am going to try photographing wildlife/Motorsport, and any advice on the settings to use for this would be very welcome as I am relatively new to DSLR cameras.

Neil

Comments

• edited January 2017
    General advice only on super tele for such purposes.

First, make sure your AF is set to C, and either single point or dynamic, so that you can nail a moving subject. Multi-area is not likely to work best. You get no choices of focal point in Auto exposure mode, so try to avoid that.

It's a big lens, but made to be hand held for this kind of work, so practice panning with it. You want to hit focus on your subject and then follow it. If your subject is standing still, it can be difficult to hold your position. You'll have to experiment a little to find the most comfortable way to hold steady.

If you're not comfortable with user settings, Sport mode should work fairly well.

Remember that it can be hard to zero in on a subject when the lens is at its maximum focal length, because the field of view is so narrow. If you're going after a bird in flight, or the like, start at a wider angle until you've got it in your focus point, and then zoom in if you can. Some things can simply be impossible to nail at the longest setting. Settle for a wider view if you have to.

Make sure you keep track of where the focus point is. It's very easy, especially with a big lens owing to the way one holds it, to disturb the control and end up with the focal point off in the sky somewhere. Use the [OK] button to recenter it.