Nikon 55-200mm

edited January 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
I'm pretty new to DSLR photography and Moose has given me a lot of advice, but I just discovered this forum! I have the kit lens and the 35mm f/1.8m, which I have been solely using since I got it. I noticed the 55-200mm is available for about $150 ($200 off) and wondered if I should purchase it. I would like to use it for landscapes, bird photos, and possibly dance photos, which I have not had luck on with the 35mm lens. Any advice? Thanks!

Comments

• edited January 2017
    If you think 200mm is long enough for the birds, it's a bargain. Landscapes and probably the dance photos should be well within the range. Birders tend to crave more focal length no matter what they have.

The 55-200mm does not have a very fast aperture, which may make it a bit dodgy in poor light, but it's way way less expensive than faster lenses, and much easier to manipulate. From what I've read, it's sharp enough.