Favorite software

edited December 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Novice beginner here to the world of photography. What software do you like the best for a beginner? Trying to be economical, but willing to spend some money if needed. Thanks!

Comments

• edited December 2016
    Photoshop 13 for me. I got it on sale. I only use the basic parts.
    Rick
  • edited December 2016
    If you do minimal processing, it's possible that the software that comes with the camera will do much of what you need. View NX2, which comes (or at least used to ) with the Nikon models, does a good job of basic Raw file manipulation. For cleaning up JPG files for the web, the free program "Faststone Image Viewer" has a lot of useful features.

None of these will do as good a job as Photoshop or Lightroom and the like, but they're free and quick, and if you are basically satisfied with an image and just need to do a little tweaking they may be enough. I find Faststone very handy for converting a big Raw file into a smaller JPG, as its post-conversion sharpening works very well.

If you shoot in Raw mode to begin with, you'll find the free factory software does most of what you need.
  • edited December 2016
    I don't understand why that afl button is there.
  • edited January 2017
    Thanks so much for the advice! I have another question that I will post soon.
  • @ranju, do you mean the AFL/AEL button on the back of the camera?