Fuji HS10

edited December 2016 Posted in » General Discussion
Hi, I bought a second hand Fuji HS10 Bridge camera. It's my first ever Bridge camera, as I'm new to photography, so looking for tips for using the M mode manual. I have used the Auto up until now, but want to start using the camera to its best ability. Hope you can help, cheers.

Comments

• edited December 2016
    Since the focus of these forums is on Canon and Nikon DSLR's it will be difficult to get very specific as to settings.

I suggest that the first thing you do is to find some resources on the general theory of exposure. e.t.a. actually the second thing (see the end of the post!). There's a web site called Cambridge in Colour which has some pretty good tutorials. In particular, you need to learn what difference some settings make, with regard to depth of field, stopping motion, and so forth.

Second, if your camera has some mode between auto and M, such as Aperture priority, that might be a better place to start, as the camera's exposure meter will still make final decisions while allowing you to set more options. Again, this undoubtedly varies with camera models, but in the Nikon, for example, the four modes, P, S, A and M (program, shutter priority, aperture priority and manual) allow many more options such as focus points, ISO, metering, and whatnot, which are taken over in Auto mode. But in all those modes except for M, the camera's meter still fine tunes exposure. In M, the Nikon has an exposure meter that recommends settings, but you can override it.