New Nikon D3300 and new to photography

edited July 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
Hi all,

My name is Gareth and I've just purchased my first proper camera in a D3300. I had a bit of a browse, and it had really great reviews as an entry level, so that's what swayed my decision. I'm a total novice at this stuff so hoping it's not too steep of a learning curve.

I'm really looking for some good basic hints, tips, and advice as to how to get the most out of this camera, and I hope to be able to share my progress with you all along the way.

Thanks for reading this post and I'm grateful for any advice.

Comments

• edited July 2016
    I'm in the same situation. I just ordered mine and it should be here in a couple of weeks. I'm going to get the cheat sheets, but I'm interested in other tips.
  • The cheat sheets and other basic lessons on line about the principles of exposure will help a lot.

I will add some of my usual bits as well:

First, make sure you download the complete and unabridged instructions from the PDF file, because the printed book for some models at least is not complete.

Download the Nikon software if you do not have sophisticated image software you already like. Then shoot Raw files, which allow a great deal more post processing without changing the underlying file. Raw files allow you to correct exposure, picture control (color set) and white balance, and to revert if you make a mistake.