Lens filters

edited August 2016 Posted in » Nikon D5300 Forum
Hi,
I am an absolute beginner in the world of DSLR cameras and will soon be venturing out to purchase a Nikon D5300 with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens and a NIKON AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G SWM ED VR Telephoto Zoom Lens. My question is about the lens filters I require. I understand it is best to have a UV filter fitted to my lens permanently, but if I want to use a polarizing filter, can I, or do I need to have two filters fitted at the same time? Also what size filters do I need?
All help appreciated.
Dave

Comments

• edited August 2016
    First of all, I would suggest you skip the UV or other filters for normal use. The actual filtering such things do is not necessary for digital cameras, whose bandwidth is better controlled than it was for film. You will have little if any effect from these, except for an increased likelihood of flare from the added layer of glass.

A filter of this sort is useful to have around if you expect to use your lens in very harsh environments such as ocean spray or blowing sand, to protect the lens, but the likelihood of preventing ordinary damage is very small, and rarely pays off. Some people are convinced that they should always have a sacrificial filter on a lens, but others skip it, preferring to avoid any possible degradation of the image from the filter itself. I think this is especially true for the kit zoom, because, although it is a good lens and very useful, it's relatively cheap to replace. A little front element wear and tear will never be seen on your pictures anyway, but flare will.