DX vs FX

edited July 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
So I am very new to photography (other than with a cell phone camera) and I'm overwhelmed with all the info out there, especially considering lenses. While looking at different lenses I noticed FX and DX. What are the main differences? Is one lens type better for certain situations and/or cameras? What basic lenses should every photographer have? I have the kit lens currently (DX AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G). What does it all mean?

I am enrolled in a photography program at my local college beginning next month but would like to start learning now!

Thanks!

Comments

• edited July 2016
    FX is the format approximately equal to 35mm film. DX is a smaller format, approximately equal to APS film.

A DX format is, essentially, a 75 percent crop of an FX image. Because of this, the field of view is different. What an FX camera sees using a 50mm lens will be approximately what a DX camera sees using a 35mm lens.

All FX lenses can be used on a DX camera. A part of the image circle will not show on the sensor, but the lens will behave correctly in all respects. The focal length of a lens is always the same. Thus, for example, you can get a 35mm DX lens or a 35mm FX lens. On a DX camera, both will behave the same, and have the same field of view. On an FX camera, the DX lens will not cover the plane completely and will have dark corners, simply because its image circle is suited only to DX.

If you are planning to stay with DX format for a good long time, DX lenses will tend to be smaller, lighter, and cheaper, while still behaving well. FX lenses will work fine, but will tend to be bigger and more expensive. In some cases, no DX specific lenses exist, and you must use FX. For example, if you want a long telephoto zoom like the 200-500mm Nikkor, there's only one, and it's FX. I use one of these on my DX camera, and it rocks.