Shooting dancing in low light

edited July 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hey Gang. I just found you online and like many here, I'm just a novice looking to improve on taking some images. I'm a hobbyist, but would like to have a nice clean image. I operate a dj company and take images throughout the dance portion of the evening, mainly or advert purposes, but I also give them to my clients too. My challenge is low lighting at times. Because of time, I've been operating in Auto mode (the crowd sighs!), but I'm finding that it's not always capturing things very well. I'll continue working through the old posts here, but any suggestions on using the camera in a low light/dancing atmosphere, would be appreciated.

Btw, just the two stock lenses and I do have a decent adjustable hot shot flash (I can't recall exact model right now).

Look forward to learning more here with you folks.

Comments

• edited July 2016
    The main issue you may have with Auto mode is that it takes away the options of autofocus choice, and the option of ISO choice. Other issues are pertinent too, but I think those are the most prevalent.

To begin with, especially in difficult lighting situations, multi-area Auto focus may miss your subject and focus on the wrong thing. As a result, of course, you cannot control focus very well. For dancers in motion, I would suggest changing to one of the "controllable" modes, P, S, A or M, and setting the auto focus to Continuous Servo and Auto Area or 3D (you should try both, and find which one tracks your subject best). This mode will allow you to select a single starting point, and then track a subject. Make sure you have selected the correct point. It's easy to get moved by accident. The [OK] button recenters it.