Long Exposures

edited June 2016 Posted in » Canon SL1 / 100D Forum
Hi all,

I've had a Canon SL1 for about a month now and I'm obsessed with it. As will become very clear, I am a total newbie with this type of camera and understand very little, but this hasn't stopped me playing around, mostly in the automatic setting. I am sure it's easy and I'm being a little dumb, but how do I set my camera up for long exposures? I am going to Joshua tree this weekend and really want to play around with some night long exposures. I have no idea what setting to use and how to set a time period. Any help with this and simple clear dumb person proof steps would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• Seconded!
  • edited June 2016
    I think the Canon and Nikon are similar in that the way to get exposures up to a certain length is to use either shutter priority or manual exposure mode, and manually select a shutter time.

At night, metering is essentially unworkable, and so is auto focus unless you can find a pinpoint of light, so you will probably have to set your AF to manual and try to focus manually. Use a tripod, and if focusing is difficult, switch to Live View ( back screen, whatever they call it in a Canon), and zoom that view in. On a Nikon this is done with the [+] button to the left of the screen. I'm sure there's a similar function in the Canon, but you may need to look it up. The screen view does not zoom the photograph, only the viewfinder.

You'll have to guess the metering for long night shots, as most of the scene will be black. If you attempt to meter, the camera may overexpose and try to turn the image gray. If you have it on Auto ISO, it will crank the ISO way up into noisy territory. Try to keep ISO low for less noise.