Lens for family portraits

edited December 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
I'm new to DSLR, but I'm wanting to get into full body portraits. I have the 18-55mm lens, and 55-200mm lens, should I get a different lens for taking good family portraits? Any help or suggestions would help. I have alot to learn.

Comments

• edited December 2015
    If you want full body portraits, it will depend a lot on how far away you can get. If you want a blurred background, try to use the longest focal length you can get away with at whatever distance you can achieve, along with the widest aperture (smallest F number). The shortest focal length will keep your backgrounds sharp, and the individual elements in the background fairly small. The longest focal length will make backgrounds less sharp, and the individual elements will look larger, which can often make them less distracting and more abstract.

Neither of these lenses is the very best for portraiture owing to the relatively small apertures, but the 55-200mm may prove very good in the middle range if you can stand far enough back. Done right, the 18-55mm can do fine at or near 55mm too, but you'll have to be a bit more creative in placement of people versus background.

For group portraits, and especially if the people are not all in one row, the shallow depth of field you get with a faster lens may be wasted anyway. You're more likely to need to keep all the people sharp, and let the background be visible. Try to keep backgrounds simple, and the further behind the people the better, unless the content of the background is an important element of the picture. One thing that can help some if you're doing faces (not so good for full bodies unless further away) is to get down lower than you're used to, so you're shooting upward, so that sky or further objects form more of the background.