ISO Settings

edited April 2016 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hey guys, so I was trying to adjust my ISO setting to be automatic since I'm a beginner, and my camera told me I can't adjust ISO settings because of the state of my camera? What does that mean?

Comments

• edited April 2016
    You cannot adjust ISO at all if the camera is set to Automatic mode. In that mode, ISO is always automatic and there is no user input allowed. In the picture modes, you adjust ISO to manual or automatic using the ISO dial (or setting in [i] menu) only. The choices are all the usual ISO settings, plus Auto. If you set one of the manual settings, it will always shoot at that one, and if you set it at Auto, it will always be Auto with no user input.

The auto ISO settings in the menu apply only to A, S, P and M modes, and are not allowed in other modes. For those modes, the "Auto" setting on the ISO dial is grayed out. You set a starting ISO, and Auto ISO will modify that according to what the meter calls for. You can set a maximum to which it will go (sometimes you don't want it to go automatically to the very top), and a shutter speed below which it will switch.

If the D5100 manual is anything like the D3200 manual, the ISO issue is poorly explained. Your best bet in figuring out what does what and when is to try everything!

• edited June 2016
    I am in the Aperture mode on my D5100 (manual as well fails), and I still can't put auto on. I know @Moose replied on this question a long time ago, but I lost the email.
  • You need to go to the menu. You can't get at it with the ISO dial or the [i] menu. You can not turn it off or on except in the shooting menu.

• Oh I know, I am there in "ISO Sensitivity Settings" under A mode, but the setting is still grayed out when dialing towards it.
  • edited June 2016