Help with long exposure shots

edited April 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I have read the part in manual about long exposures, but I just can't figure out how to take these shots. I want to take my daughters senior pictures and these are the shots I want to take. I'm a beginner, so please explain things thoroughly. I don't know much at all about my new camera yet. Thank you so much!

Comments

• edited April 2016
    If you want to take a shot up to 30 seconds, you can do that either with shutter priority or manual mode. Set the shutter speed to what you want, and either calculate aperture and ISO, or let the camera do it with S priority and auto ISO. You cannot get slow shutter speeds in the automatic and scenic modes. There is a limit to how slow you can get in normal light.

If you want longer shutter speeds in ordinary light (for instance, to blur moving water in a background), you must use the lowest ISO possible, the smallest aperture possible (looking out for diffraction loss with apertures smaller than f/16 or so - remember with aperture numbers, larger number = smaller aperture, less light), and if you still can't get the speed low enough, you'll need a neutral density filter on the lens to darken it.

If you want to take shots longer than 30 seconds, it's very difficult without getting the infrared remote (which is very inexpensive).

With the camera alone, the "bulb" shutter setting holds the shutter open as long as you press the button, which makes it very difficult to hold steady even on a tripod. With the IR remote, when you put it on "bulb" the shutter opens on the first press of the button, and stays open until the second - a true time exposure. This is the only way to implement it on the D3200.