50mm or 85mm?

edited March 2016 Posted in » Nikon Lens Talk
I just discovered your site and forum. I am just learning what this camera can do. This is going to be so helpful and educational. Thank you for your simple, easy to understand teaching methods. ;) I currently have an 18-200mm zoom for my D5100 and would like to take portraits of our new grand baby as well as get professional looking group shots. I also love to take shots of my garden and the chickens. Can you advise me about the pros and cons of the 50mm vs 85mm? I realize the 85mm is quite a bit more expensive, but it's worth it to me if it will give me better shots with less distortion. Thanks so much.

Comments

• Since you have a superzoom lens, just try shooting with 50mm for a day versus 85mm for a day. See which focal length you prefer. On a crop sensor like the D5100, you’ll likely find that the 50mm is more useful.
    Distortion isn’t an issue. There’s very little distortion on prime lenses compared to zooms lenses. Besides, any distortion can easily be corrected in post-processing.
  • edited April 2016
    I have both (not the ones here, but the same focal lengths). The 85mm gives a beautiful look when it's possible to use it at all, and on the DX format it's a medium short telephoto that works nicely for middle distances. The 50mm will be more useful more often, and is probably the best overall portrait lens for people. As Ohyeahar says, try the focal lengths using the lens you already have, which covers both, and decide which you find most convenient. At longer focal lengths, even the relatively slow zooms can provide very nice out of focus backgrounds, too.
  • edited January 2017
    You're lens that came with your camera is suitable for doing portrait photography.
    I have done portrait photography, weddings (I hate them but they pay well), nature and freelance photojournalism.