Interior design photography

edited February 2016 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Total newbie to photography, but willing to learn and I intend to make it a new hobby of mine.

I have the standard 15-55mm lens and buying a 55-200mm lens for general purposes. I also have a speedlight flash as well.

The reason itself that I bought the camera a few years ago was to take pictures of the jobs that we do. We have a finished carpentry company that does modern closets, kitchens, doors (walkway), vanities, and many other things. Most of these are in tight spaces or in bad lighting. I can say that I've tried reading and looking around to see how to get a professional look to them, but they still come out looking very amateurish.

I was looking into getting a 35mm lens or something in that range to help me capture the tighter spaces in low-light. I am located in Miami and the majority of my clients are along the beach or close to it, where most of the kitchens have open glass doors/walls with light coming in from the ocean.

I want to make our pictures look like those you see in design magazines, because the work we do is amazing, and our pictures aren't reflecting that.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• edited February 2016
    35mm is likely too narrow a viewpoint with this camera for interiors. Remember that that is "normal" on the DX sensor. 18mm is wide, and equivalent to about 28mm in the 35mm format. For interiors, your best bet is probably going to be a wider zoom. The wider the better if you're trying to fit in a whole room.

If you have difficult spaces that need perspective correction (something one can nowadays do in software, but once needed an expensive shifting lens), you will probably want to go even wider than you need, because correction will make your images non-rectangular, and you'll have to crop.