How do I know if my camera is faulty?

edited January 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
Hi all,

I have a D3300 on its way, and I'm so looking forward to its arrival.

But I am anxious, as I have no real experience on photography, much less with an SLR. What I am concerned about it, is that when I start to use it, how will I know if I have a faulty or bad one? I have nothing to compare it to, or anyone really to ask.

My nightmare is that I could have a below par one and not know it. Although this is the entry model it has taken a lot of saving for. So any reassurance would be hugely appreciated. :)

Thank you

Comments

• edited January 2016
    Make sure you read the instructions, and try all sorts of things.

The D3300 is an entry model, and that means that it has fewer fancy features, but it is a very competent camera, with a very good sensor, and is capable of very good pictures. Most of what higher models offer is more convenience features, and more sophisticated auto focus, but the image quality of a D3300 is about as good as anything. The lower models are not as tough or weatherproof as the higher ones, but they're well made. Though the kit lens uses lots of plastic and is rather cheaply put together, it's optically very good too.