Tripod confusion

edited October 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi, could somebody please advise me on what would be a good tripod for me to buy? I am just learning photography and really want to take wildlife, landscapes, and sky at night photos.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• edited October 2015
    It's hard to make a recommendation without a budget, and new models come out all the time, but I can give a couple of general ideas. The best tripods are pretty expensive.

Some consideration must be made for how portable you need it, and how heavy a tripod you want to handle. The bigger the better for stability, but if it's a great heavy thing you leave at home, it's no tripod at all. Night skies can be hard to do with a jiggly tripod, even if the camera stands still, because focusing can be difficult.

For following movement, a ball head is best, but for landscapes and skies, a three way head works well. What you do not want is a "video" style head that pans and tilts but does not offer fine horizon adjustment.

I have settled on Manfrotto, mostly older ones, but they're pretty expensive. Nowadays there are a couple of Chinese brands, such as Benro, Induro and others, that make decent tripods that resemble Manfrottos or Gitzos, which are much more expensive.

Slik makes some good tripods with three way heads, such as the 400 DX Pro, for a little over a hundred dollars. I used a 400 DX for a long time, and it's quite steady and the head is nice and smooth. Velbon also may have some good ones. Both Slik and Velbon, while they make very good models, also make cheap mass market ones, so the brand alone is not enough to go on. At one photo store not long ago, I saw a Chinese clone of the better Slik Pro series. I don't remember the brand, but it looked much like a 400DX, and even seemed to use the same quick release pad.