Total beginner steps

edited October 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello, I have a D3200 with a Tamron 18-200mm lens. For a while I've just used the guide setting. I've gone through your beginner guide videos, and I'm not sure what to try next. I find if I play with the settings I just get a blurry mess! What should I do next to learn something?

Comments

• edited October 2015
    The first thing you should probably do is to go to the playback menu, and enable the "overview" setting, so that you can determine what has gone wrong with the pictures you're having problems with.

The overview setting will tell you shutter speed, aperture, iso, auto focus settings, and so forth, and from there it might be possible to determine what has gone wrong.

If you have not noticed, the printed guide that comes with the D3200 is incomplete. The complete instructions are in a PDF file on the accompanying CD, along with the program View NX2, which is useful for post processing, especially if you shoot Raw files. I suggest you put that PDF on your computer, easily accessed, so you can refer to it whenever you need it.

Read up on the basic operations, especially the various auto focus possibilities.

If you're having issues with other settings, but want to take more charge of things than the auto setting allows, I would suggest that you begin by putting the camera in "P" mode, which sets shutter speed and aperture together, and make sure that you have also enabled Auto ISO, which will allow the meter to adjust ISO as needed as well. Set your Auto focus to A and Dynamic area, and make sure the focus point stays centered (use the [OK] button to center it). This should give you decently exposed pictures, with the ability to focus on what you're aiming at.